Black Hawk County Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO)



Who we are...

Federal law requires the formation of metropolitan planning organizations (MPOs) for urbanized areas with a population greater than 50,000. The role of an MPO is to oversee transportation planning and policy to ensure that existing and future expenditures on transportation projects are based on a continuing, cooperative, and comprehensive planning process. There are a total of nine MPOs throughout the State of Iowa.

The Black Hawk County MPO represents the urbanized area of Black Hawk County which includes the cities of Waterloo, Cedar Falls, Elk Run Heights, Evansdale, Gilbertville, Hudson, and Raymond, and a portion of the unincorporated area of Black Hawk County. Iowa's 18 Regional Planning Affiliations (RPAs) cover all the area outside of Iowa's nine MPOs. RPA 7 is the Iowa Northland Regional Transportation Authority (RTA) and includes all of Bremer, Buchanan, Butler, Chickasaw, and Grundy Counties, as well as the areas of Black Hawk County not covered by the MPO.

The Iowa Northland Regional Council of Governments (INRCOG) provides staffing and support for both the MPO and RTA. INRCOG is a regional planning agency that also assists local governments with comprehensive, economic development, land use, and housing planning. INRCOG also operates the Regional Transit System, which provides transit service in the RTA. Furthermore, INRCOG staff often represent the MPO and RTA in transportation studies, interact regularly with State and Federal agencies, and write grant applications for various transportation-related projects in the region.

While INRCOG provides staffing and technical support, the decision making and programming authority of the MPO and RTA rests within their two branches, the Policy Board and the Technical Committee. The Policy Boards consist of local elected officials and are responsible for the adoption of the five planning documents outlined below. The Policy Boards also work with the Iowa DOT Commission to ensure continued support for the area. The Technical Committees consist of city and county planners, engineers, and interested parties. The Technical committees have extensive knowledge of the area's transportation and advise the Policy Boards, but do not vote on policy issues.

The MPO meets monthly, and meetings are open to the public. The MPO meets the second Thursday of the month at 10:00 a.m. at the INRCOG Center (229 E Park Ave, Waterloo).



What we do...

The MPO serves as a liaison for federal funding from the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA), the Federal Transit Administration (FTA), and the Iowa Department of Transportation (DOT) that goes to local entities including cities, counties, and public transit systems. The MPO solicits projects annually for Surface Transportation Block Grant program (STBG) and Transportation Alternatives Set-aside Program (TAP) funding.

STBG funds are primarily used for major new construction or reconstruction projects on federally functionally classified roads. The MPO receives approximately \$3.3 million in STBG funds annually.

TAP funds are used for projects such as trails, bicycle and pedestrian accommodations, and historic transportation-related projects. The current funding target for the MPO is approximately \$168,000 annually. The MPO also receives \$128,000 annually in TAP Flex funding which can be used for TAP -eligible projects and/or STBG-eligible projects.

The MPO and RTA are each responsible for the development and maintenance of these five documents:

- Long Range Transportation Plan (LRTP)
- Transportation Improvement Program (TIP)
- Transportation Planning Work Program (TPWP)
- Passenger Transportation Plan (PTP)
- Public Participation Plan (PPP)

Iowa Northland Regional Transportation Authority (RTA)



Who we are...

There are a total of 18 Regional Planning Affiliations (RPAs) throughout the State of Iowa. The role of an RPA is to oversee transportation planning and policy to ensure that existing and future expenditures on transportation projects are based on a continuing, cooperative, and comprehensive planning process.

RPA 7 is the Iowa Northland Regional Transportation Authority (RTA). This includes all of Bremer, Buchanan, Butler, Chickasaw, and Grundy Counties, as well as the areas of Black Hawk County not covered by the Black Hawk County Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO). Iowa's nine MPOs are the urban counterparts to the state's RPAs.

The Iowa Northland Regional Council of Governments (INRCOG) provides staffing and support for both the MPO and RTA. INRCOG is a regional planning agency that also assists local governments with comprehensive, economic development, land use, and housing planning. INRCOG also operates the Regional Transit System, which provides transit service in the RTA. Furthermore, INRCOG staff often represent the MPO and RTA in transportation studies, interact regularly with State and Federal agencies, and write grant applications for various transportation-related projects in the region.

While INRCOG provides staffing and technical support, the decision making and programming authority of the MPO and RTA rests within their two branches, the Policy Board and the Technical Committee. The Policy Boards consist of local elected officials and are responsible for the adoption of the five planning documents outlined below. The Policy Boards also work with the Iowa DOT Commission to ensure continued support for the area. The Technical Committees consist of city and county planners, engineers, and interested parties. The Technical committees have extensive



knowledge of the area's transportation and advise the Policy Boards, but do not vote on policy issues.

The RTA generally meets monthly, and meetings are open to the public. The RTA meets the third Thursday of the month at 1:00 p.m. at the INRCOG Center (229 E Park Ave, Waterloo).

What we do...

The RTA serves as a liaison for federal funding from the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA), the Federal Transit Administration (FTA), and the Iowa Department of Transportation (DOT) that goes to local entities including cities, counties, and public transit systems. The RTA solicits projects annually for Surface Transportation Block Grant program (STBG) and Transportation Alternatives Set-aside Program (TAP) funding.

STBG funds are primarily used for major new construction or reconstruction projects on federally functionally classified roads. The RTA receives approximately \$2.4 million in STBG funds annually.

TAP funds are used for projects such as trails, bicycle and pedestrian accommodations, and historic transportation-related projects. The current funding target for the RTA is approximately \$131,000 annually. The RTA also receives \$100,000 annually in TAP Flex funding which can be used for TAP-eligible projects and/or STBG-eligible projects.

The MPO and RTA are each responsible for the development and maintenance of these five documents:

- Long Range Transportation Plan (LRTP)
- Transportation Improvement Program (TIP)
- Transportation Planning Work Program (TPWP)
- Passenger Transportation Plan (PTP)
- Public Participation Plan (PPP)